First Things First

I have three hanging baskets of petunias on my fence in my backyard. I love hanging baskets because they automatically make the yard look like summer.  The petunias started out looking colorful and summery and all was right with the world.

I watered and adored my flowers and one day I noticed they were getting tall…..maybe too tall?

One in particular started looking really rough. It no longer looked lush and full- it was thin and its color was not good. I debated about what to do, and eventually decided to cut all my petunias back to nubs. It wasn’t pretty. It felt wrong. I cut off lots of beautiful blossoms. Instead of beautiful flowers, we had little greenish yellow stubble.

Then, we waited. (And bought back up plants, because this is real life). But we also waited.

And waited.

And after a week we started to see the leaves and stems grow a bit.

The next week we started to see some little flower buds.

Now four weeks later our baskets of hanging petunias are once again full and lush and beautiful.

First Things First

You may have noticed my blog has been pretty quiet the past several weeks. I started my blog last spring, hoping for a creative outlet to share my thoughts and the projects we do around here. And the response from you all has been more than I could have hoped for. I had plans and ideas for growth for my blog and beyond.

But then I started to feel a little too stretched.

I am not going to tell you I am like my petunias. I won’t give some labored metaphor about how I have to cut back- even cut off some beautiful blossoms- so I can regroup mentally and put my focus back where it matters. That might be a little dramatic.

But it’s totally true.

I am taking a step back from my blog. Even with a little blog like this, there is still enough work and management requirements to distract from what is truly important. And that is not okay with me.

First Things First

I love writing, so I don’t want to say I am “closing” my blog. We’ll call it  “pushing pause”. I am sure I will be back whenever we do a cute project or I feel the need to stand on a soapbox. You all have been more than supportive and I am truly grateful!

First Things First

So, friends, I will see you in a bit. It’s time for me to put first things first again.

2 thoughts on “First Things First

Leave a Reply

