Lifestyle Photography: Beyond the Kids

Lifestyle photography has really stolen my heart.  I love preserving the real moments that make up our everyday lives. Not just the kids’ giant smiles, but their furrowed brows as they work on a project. Not just the pictures they paint, but the little fingers covered in paint. The real, the messy, and the spontaneously beautiful. That’s what this type of photography is about for me.

image

Occasionally, though, I like to photograph things other than my boys. (gasp)!

image
Seedlings and seed packets my mom brought me on a fun-filled morning.

There are so many beautiful moments in our everyday lives. I think it helps me to be happier in general if I am mindful to take a moment to appreciate the beauty around me.

image
The beautiful colors of my favorite salad.

They say the best camera is the camera you have with you, and that’s very true for this type of photography. I loooove my “big girl” camera, but I always have my iPhone nearby, so it’s usually what I use for these spontaneous shots.

image
A delicious Saturday lunch.

I have an iPhone 6 and I am pretty happy with the photos it takes. I usually edit in Instagram, but the phone itself has some decent editing features too.

image
A beautiful sunset.

So when I am not playing mama-razzi and harassing my boys with my camera, what kind of things do I photograph? The vibrant colors of flowers or food or the blue sky and green leaves of a sunny day. Sunrise, sunset, sun flare. Anything or any moment that makes me smile.

image
Relaxing with a cup of coffee on a peaceful morning.
image
That time I dominated the dandelions along our fence.

Sometimes if it has been a rough day, just sitting down and editing some of these happy little photos improves my mood because it helps me focus on the positive. Not all the photos are something I would want to put in a frame, not all the photos get shared on social media. But they are pretty and meaningful to me. Taking the time to snap the picture really does give me a sense of gratitude and joy.

garden tips
I noticed this lovely sun flare opportunity one morning as I stumbled around trying to make my coffee!

So give your kids a break! Slow down and keep your eyes open. You might be surprised at how beautiful your life really is.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lifestyle Photography: Beyond the Kids

Leave a Reply

