Homemade Salad Dressings & Dips

This week there will be no menu plan Monday. Its a pretty devastating situation, I know. I apologize. There are two reasons why there is no menu plan this week:

1) Our central air is awaiting the repair man. We are incredibly spoiled and really start to melt if the temperature in the house gets above 72 degrees. (It’s a little sad, I know. But once you have air conditioning you can’t go back)! So I am avoiding cooking in the house until this situation is fixed.

2) We have a lot of family get-togethers this week so someone else will be doing the cooking a few of the nights.

On the nights I do cook, I will grill chicken or some burgers to have with salad, or even just throw together a sandwich platter with some fruit and veggies on the side. Not a super exciting menu plan.

But I am a creature of habit so in the spirit of Menu Plan Monday, I thought I would share a few of my favorite dip and salad dressing recipes. If you don’t make your own salad dressing, I highly recommend giving it a try. It’s super easy and it tastes so much better than store bought!

Here are some of my go-to recipes:

Comeback Sauce: This is great to have on hand as a dip for chips, fries or veggies. It is even good on sandwiches or a salad dressing in a pinch.

Caesar Salad Dressing

Creamy Balsamic Dressing: Deliciously different! Full disclosure, Hubs isn’t too impressed with this one but I loooove it!

Burger and Fry sauce: This is so easy yet so delicious! Just whisk together mayo + ketchup + mustard + grill seasoning,  and use to top burgers and as a dip for fries.

Ranch Dressing: After reading a few different recipes, I created my own version that I can whip together really quickly. The measurements aren’t exact, I just add seasonings until it tastes like ranch!

Here is the basic outline (measurements are approximate):

Whisk together 1 cup mayo + 1 TBS vinegar + 2 TBS milk

Add in 1 tsp onion powder + 1 tsp garlic powder + 1 TBS dried dill (Lighthouse brand is my favorite) + a pinch of salt and pepper

Whisk together and taste to check seasonings. Add milk to thin if necessary.

Want to try something new? Add in a few tablespoons of BBQ sauce for BBQ ranch!

I hope you give these recipes a try! Also…let me know if you have a great Italian Vinaigrette recipe. That is the one thing missing from my repertoire!

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

