Book Club: Five Encouraging Favorites

Ahh…is there anything more wonderful than having a good book in one hand and a cup of coffee in the other? Call me an introvert (because, well, its true) but I love nothing more than snuggling up with a good book on a chilly day, or relaxing and reading on a lounge chair when the weather is sunny and warm.

But as much as I love a good book, the first year of so of motherhood I didn’t read much beyond “What to Expect: The First Year” and every article ever written on baby sleep (in case you are curious, none of them help)! Then on a little getaway with my husband when our older son was about 18 months old, I picked up a chick lit book to read by the pool and my love of reading was reignited!

I definitely prefer more easy going, encouraging reads to crazy intense or emotional books- little kids provide more than enough drama and emotion for me, thank you very much! This list is just a snippet of my favorites, and it contains a little bit of everything, but if I had to pick a theme for this category, it would be Encouragement.

Favorite books

Here are a few of my most recent favorites:

The Fringe Hours by Jessica Turner: Practical and life changing advice fill these pages- what you love to do matters!

The Nesting Place by Myquillyn Smith: A little bit about decorating, a little bit about life, this is a great book. The author’s “it doesn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful” motto and her approach to decorating by first “quieting your space” have been so encouraging and helpful for me.

You’re Already Amazing by Holley Gerth: This one reminds me of the book “The Purpose Driven Life”, except written from a  female perspective. It is full of encouragement and inspiration and truth. A must-read.

Sparkly Green Earrings by Melanie Shankle: Lots of mommy wisdom that is relatable and laugh out loud funny. One chapter is titled “That Time I Didn’t Sleep for Four Years”. Enough said!

A Million Little Ways by Emily P. Freeman: This book is just so good. The author is a true wordsmith and the way she discusses the art we all make- and having the courage to share that art- make this another book to read and read again.

Have you read any of these books? I would love to talk about it with you!

What amazing books am I missing out on? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Book Club: Five Encouraging Favorites

Leave a Reply

