Fizzing Easter Eggs

Oh my goodness was this ever fun! I was looking to change things up from our traditional egg dyeing method, and this idea from Toddler Approved did not disappoint!

Supplies:

baking soda

food coloring

water

paint brushes

mixing containers (I used small coffee cups)

boiled eggs

deep baking dish

cloth or covering to protect work area

vinegar

squeeze bottle or cup for vinegar

How-to:

1. In a mixing container, mix a heaping teaspoon of baking soda, a few drops of food coloring and about a half tablespoon of water. Repeat for each color. (The measurements are approximate. I guess I “put my own spin on this” by misreading the original directions- haha! Our mixture was on the thin side, but we still got a great fizzy reaction).

2. Let your little artists paint their eggs (we did one at a time). I also added a few drops of food coloring directly to each egg (per the original author’s suggestion) and we loved the vibrant color that added.

The artists hard at work.
The artists hard at work.

3. Place the painted eggs in your baking dish and add some vinegar- watch your little ones’ faces light up!

volcano eggs
Trying to balance enthusiastic kids and a camera is a tricky game! This was the best photo I could manage. I love the colors!!

4. Repeat with all eggs and set in carton to dry.

So pretty!
So pretty!

For the grand finale, I placed all the mixing cups in the baking dish and added vinegar to each so that they were fizzing and overflowing. My toddler was so impressed! With an emphatic “OOOOOHHH“, he declared the project a success!

Did you try any different methods for dyeing eggs this year? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Easter!

One thought on “Fizzing Easter Eggs

Leave a Reply

